+33 (0) 1 6087 0467

QoS and the effects
of data encryption on VSAT
DOWNLOAD  download_icon_24x24

Modem satellite
Informations security
DOWNLOAD  download_icon_24x24

puce NDSatcom SkyWan Series of Satellite Modems


Optimizing the use of the space segment is a key criterion for selecting a satellite modem: the space segment is a recurring leasing cost which can not be avoided. Thus, the choice of multiple access protocol in this segment by a network of station will depend on the duration of the project, investment materials, flexibility and facilities requested.

There are several communication protocols: SCPC FDMA, TDMA, CDMA, etc … that define how VSATs access and use the space segment allocated by the owner of the satellite.

We propose the use of TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) FM (Frequency multiplier) DAMA (Dynamic Allocation Multiple Access).

For this, we propose the use of SKYWAN family of satellite modems manufactured NDSatcom, IDU 7000, IDU 2070, IDU 1070 …

This modem is a MF-TDMA VSAT system that can use up to eight frequencies. Each frequency has a maximum capacity of 6 Mega Symbols per second allowing a network capacity up to 80 Mbps, depending on the algorithm of convolution FEC (Forward Error Correction) selected.

A single frequency, with a transmission rate of the aggregate can transmit any type of information ranging from pure data, voice, facsimile to the multimedia applications.

Depending on the size of the required capabilities, transmission rates on different frequencies are configurable from 100 kbaud to 6000 kbaud. It is then possible by hopping to spend a transmission rate to another station.

The SKYWAN Series of Modems can be a so-called DAMA (Dynamic Allocation Multiple Access) that can allocate bandwidth on demand, by sharing a set of carriers between all applications. This means that at any time the satellite bandwidth is allocated according to individual demand of the stations, and released as soon as it is no longer used. When a station does not transmit, available capacity can be used by any other station in the network.

Each station is able to apply all the bandwidth from 100 to 125 ms in the frame structure configured. This allocation of capacity is actually less than a second after the demand for bandwidth providing dynamic allocation of bandwidth unmatched in the industry.

Network topology based on a concept Star configuration may then be advanced to migrate to a hybrid or mesh topology where each station can directly communicate with any other station without passing through a hub or a station master. The system can be configured according to a more flexible criteria in terms of priority, minimum bandwidth, permalinks, etc. .. Between each station being more or less important in terms of transmission capacity.

At any time, the user can become their own operator as independently as possible.


Click here to discover the idu7000 modem specificities

+33 (0) 1 6087 0467

Effet d’un Chiffrage
sur la QoS en VSAT
TÉLÉCHARGER  download_icon_24x24

Sécurité des informations
dans un modem satellite
TÉLÉCHARGER  download_icon_24x24

puce Satellite modem NDSatCom


L’optimisation de l’usage du segment spatial est un critère essentiel pour le choix d’un modem satellite: le segment spatial est un coût récurrent de location qui ne peut être évité. Ainsi, le choix du protocole d’un accès multiple à ce segment par les stations d’un réseau dépendra de la durée du projet, de l’investissement du matériel, de la flexibilité et de facilités demandées.

Il existe plusieurs protocoles de communication : SCPC, FDMA, TDMA, CDMA, etc…qui définissent comment les stations VSAT accèdent et utilisent le segment spatial alloué par le propriétaire du satellite.

Nous proposons l’utilisation du TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) MF (Multiple frequencies) DAMA (Dynamic Allocation Multiple Access).

Pour cela, nous proposons l’utilisation du modem satellite de la famille SKYWAN du constructeur NDSatcom, IDU 7000, IDU 2070, IDU 1070…

Ce modem est un système VSAT MF-TDMA pouvant utiliser jusqu’à huit fréquences. Chaque fréquence possède une capacité maximum de 6 Mega Symbols par seconde permettant ainsi un réseau d’une capacité maximum de 80 Mbit/s, selon l’algorithme de convolution FEC (Forward Correction Error) choisi.

Une simple fréquence, présentant un certain taux de transmission agrégé, peux transmettre tout type d’information allant de la donnée pure, voix, fac-similé jusqu’aux applications de multimédia.

Selon le dimensionnement des capacités requises, des taux de transmissions différents par fréquences sont paramétrables allant de 100 kBaud à 6000 kBaud. Il est alors possible par saut de fréquence de passer d’un taux de transmission à l’autre.

Les modems de la série SKYWAN peuvent constituer un système dit DAMA (Dynamic Allocation Multiple Access) capable d’allouer la bande passante à la demande, en partageant un ensemble de porteuses entre toutes les applications. Cela signifie qu’à n’importe quel moment la bande passante satellitaire est allouée en fonction de la demande individuelle des stations, et libérée dès que celle-ci n’est plus utilisée. Lorsqu’une station ne transmet pas, la capacité disponible peut être utilisée par n’importe quelle autre station du réseau.

Chaque station est capable de faire une demande de bande passante toutes les 100 à 125 ms, selon la structure de trame configurée. Cette allocation de capacité est effective moins d’une seconde après la demande de bande passante procurant une allocation dynamique de bande passante inégalée dans l’industrie.

La topologie du réseau peut partir sur un concept étoilé, puis évoluer pour migrer vers une topologie maillée ou hybride où chaque station peut communiquer directement avec n’importe quelle autre station sans transiter par un Hub ou une station maître. Le système peut être configuré selon les critères les plus flexibles en termes de priorité, bande passante minimum, liens permanents, etc.. Entre chaque station ayant plus ou moins d’importance en terme de capacité de transmission.

À tout moment, l’utilisateur peut devenir son propre opérateur de la manière la plus indépendante possible.


Cliquez ici pour découvrir les caractéristiques du modem idu7000